The 7 Chakras - A Guide To Your Energy System

Written by Madalina Voiculet

Many people are talking about chakras. There are lot of articles written on the opening of the chakras, the colors of the chakras and the connection between them. It can be a bit overwhelming as sometimes there is so much information that we don’t know how to use it. In this article, I will try to present chakras in a simple introductionary way, going through the colors, position, functions, the connection between them and important glands, nerves centers and blood vessels.

What are chakras?

Chakra, also known as “wheel” is translated literally “the wheel of spinning energy”. We have 7 main chakras in our body, from the top of the head to the bottom of the spine. Chakras connect the spiritual body to the physical body and regulate all parts of the bodily system, influencing not only the emotional condition but as well resistance to disease. Each chakra is associated with a certain color, sound, element, sense, mantra, organs, glands etc.

Sometimes chakras or these wheels of energy are blocked because of stress, emotional or physical problems. If the energy is not flowing through the body, then we might feel discomfort or a sense of being mentally or emotionally unbalanced. Therefore, we need to practice yoga and chakra meditation to keep them in alignment. Sometimes, we just need to be present and be compassionate and show gratitude for everything we have in our life.

First chakra is the Root Chakra – Mūlādhāra


Color: Red

Element: Earth

Sense: Smell

Questions: Do I belong here?

Asanas: All standing poses but as well moving meditation like dancing

Sound: LAM – the sound of spiritual awakening

Healing stones: red carnelian, red jasper, bloodstone, black tourmaline, obsidian

Location: the base of the spine, perineum, pelvic plexus

Endocrine gland: adrenal gland

The physical connection to this Chakra: Kidneys, blood, legs, feet, bones

Imbalances in the root chakras are related to: negativism, eating disorder, insecurities, resentment, anger, fear; the imbalances are related to the basic needs like physical safety, job situation, money, family connection, health

Affirmations: I am centered. I am safe and secure. I have what I need.

Second Chakra is Sacral Chakra – Swadisthana


Color: Orange

Element: Water

Sense: Taste

Questions: Am I ruled by my emotions? Am I emotionally aware and conscious?

Asanas: Forward folds, hip openers

Sound: VAM

Healing stones: amber, calcite orange, carnelian, or hematite

Location: at the level of the lumbar vertebra, at the center the lower belly, above the genital area

Endocrine gland: testicles and ovaries

Physical connection to this Chakra: Reproductive organs, bladder

Imbalances in the sacral chakras are related to: lack of creativity, lack of motivation, dysfunctional relationships, emotional confusion

Affirmations: I feel inspired and joyful. I am whole and complete. I love life.

Third Chakra is Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura


Color: Yellow

Element: Fire

Sense: Sight

Question Can I trust my intuition? Do I fear failure? Am I judging others?

Asanas: Twists, core work

Sound: RAM

Healing stones: amber, citrine, tiger’s eye, yellow tourmaline

Location: at the back of the stomach, upper abdomen

Endocrine gland: pancreas

The physical connection to this Chakra: Stomach, liver, gall bladder, digestion

Imbalances in the solar chakras are related to: self-esteem, judgement of self and others, misusing power, fear of rejection, shame, criticism

Affirmations: I trust my instincts and my intuition. I am not longing approval from others. I can achieve what I want.

Fourth Chakra is Heart Chraka – Anāhata


Color: Green

Element: Air

Sense: Touch

Questions: Do I love who I am? Am I able to just trust without knowing? Do I experience love for myself?

Asanas: backbends, heart opening

Sound: RAM

Healing stones: amber, citrine, tiger’s eye, yellow tourmaline

Location: at the center of the chest

Endocrine gland: thymus gland

The physical connection to this Chakra is: Heart, thymus, respiratory system and the immune system

Imbalances in the solar chakras are related to: self-esteem, judgement of self and others, misusing power, fear of rejection, shame, criticism

Affirmations: I am fully open to give love. I am fully open to receive love. I forgive instantly, completely and unconditionally myself and others.

Fifth Chakra is Throat Chraka – Visuddhu


Color: Light Blue

Element: Ether

Sense: Sound

Questions: Do I live “my truth”? Do my thoughts, words and actions agree?

Asanas: shoulder stand, fish stand

Sound: HAM

Healing stones: amazonite, lapis lazuli, turquoise, aquamarine

Location: at the throat

Endocrine gland: Respiratory System/Thyroid Gland

The physical connection to this Chakra is: Thyroid gland, throat, lungs, vocal cord, immune system

Imbalances in the throat chakras are related to: feelings of insecurity, timidity, and introversion, fear of speaking up; when the throat chakra becomes blocked, it often detaches you from your authentic and true self

Affirmations: I am able to speak my truth with ease. My voice has been heard. I am in balance in speaking and listening.

Sixth Chakra is The Third Eye Chraka – Ajna


Color: Indigo

Element: Light

Sense: no sense

Question Do I live “my truth”? Do my thoughts, words and actions agree?

Asanas: child’s pose + Meditation

Sound: AOM

Healing stones: amethyst, lapis lazuli, and azurite

Location: Eyes, base of skull, brow

Endocrine gland: Autonomic Nervous System/Pituitary Gland

The physical connection to this Chakra is: Cerebellum, pituitary gland, vision

Imbalances in the third eye chakras are related to: lack of concentration, fearful of the unknown, lack of intuition, lack of self-reflect, disconnect from the universe, judgmental, anxiety

Affirmations: I am in touch with my inner guidance. I am wise, knowledgeable, and intuitive. I trust my intuition.

Seventh Chakra is The Crown Chraka – Sahasrara


Color: luminous white or violet

Element: no element or thought

Sense: no sense

Questions: Do you have an intimate relationship with Source? What place or activity makes me feel most at peace? Do I take time for myself to recharge, relax and just be?

Asanas: head stand

Sound: silent OM

Healing stones: selenite, clear quartz, amethyst, diamond

Location: crown of the head

Endocrine gland: Autonomic pineal gland

The physical connection to this Chakra is: the pituitary and pineal glands, the nervous system and brain

Imbalances in the crown chakras are related to: depression, lack of empathy, confusion, mental fogginess, light sensitivity

Affirmations: I seek experience that nourish my spirit. I listen to the wisdom of the universe. I live in present moment.

"The chakras are specialized energy centers which connect us to the multidimensional universe. The chakras are dimensional portals within the subtle bodies which take in and process energy of higher vibrational nature so that it may be properly assimilated and used to transform the physical body.” Richard Gerber